Federal Communications Commission

EBS signals under the provisions of §27.1201.

[69 FR 72034, Dec. 10, 2004, as amended at 71 FR 35190, June 19, 2006]

§27.1206 Geographic Service Area.

(a) The Geographic Service Area (GSA) is either:

(1) The area for incumbent site-based licensees that is bounded by a circle having a 35 mile radius and centered at the station's reference coordinates, which was the previous PSA entitled to incumbent licensees prior to January 10, 2005, and is bounded by the chord(s) drawn between intersection points of the licensee's previous 35 mile PSA and those of respective adjacent market, co-channel licensees; or:

(2) The BTA that is licensed to the respective BRS BTA authorization holder subject to the exclusion of overlapping, co-channel incumbent GSAs as described in paragraph (a)(1) of this section.

(b) If the license for an incumbent BRS station cancels or is forfeited, the GSA area of the incumbent station shall dissolve and the right to operate in that area automatically reverts to the GSA licensee that held the corresponding BTA.

§27.1207 BTA license authorization.

(a) Winning bidders must file an application (FCC Form 601) for an initial authorization.

(b) Initial authorizations for BRS granted after January 1, 2008, shall be blanket licenses for all BRS frequencies identified in §27.5(i)(2) and based on the geographic areas identified in §27.1208. Blanket licenses cover all mobile and response stations.

(1) A station would be required to be individually licensed if

(i) International agreements require coordination;

(ii) Submission of an Environmental Assessment is required under §1.1307 of this chapter;

(iii) The station would affect the radio quiet zones under §1.924 of this chapter.

(2) Any antenna structure that requires notification to the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) must be registered with the Commission prior to construction under §17.4 of this chapter.

[69 FR 72034, Dec. 10, 2004, as amended at 73 FR 26040, May 8, 2008]

§27.1208 BTA service areas.

Except for incumbent BRS licenses, BRS service areas are Basic Trading Areas (BTAs) or additional service areas similar to BTAs adopted by the Commission. BTAs are based on the Rand McNally 1992 Commercial Atlas & Marketing Guide, 123rd Edition, at pages 38-39. The following are additional BRS service areas in places where Rand McNally has not defined BTAs: American Samoa; Guam; Gulf of Mexico Zone A; Gulf of Mexico Zone B; Gulf of Mexico Zone C; Northern Mariana Islands; Mayaguez/Aguadilla-Ponce, Puerto Rico; San Juan, Puerto Rico; and the United States Virgin Islands. The boundaries of Gulf of Mexico Zone A are from an area twelve nautical miles from the shoreline at mean high tide on the north and east, to the limit of the Outer Continental Shelf to the south, and to longitude 91°00' to the west. The boundaries of Gulf of Mexico Zone B are from an area twelve nautical miles from the shoreline at mean high tide on the north, to the limit of the Outer Continental Shelf to the south, to longitude 91°00' to the east, and to longitude 94°00' to the west. The boundaries of Gulf of Mexico Zone C are from an area twelve nautical miles from the shoreline at mean high tide on the north and west, to longitude 94°00' to the east, and to a line 281 kilometers from the reference point at Linares, N.L., Mexico on the southwest. The Mayaguez/Aguadilla-Ponce, PR. service area consists of the following municipios: Adjuntas, Aguada, Aguadilla, Anasco, Arroyo, Cabo Rojo, Coamo. Guanica, Guayama, Guayanilla, Hormigueros, Isabela, Jayuya, Juana Diaz, Lajas, Las Marias, Maricao, Maunabo, Mayaguez, Moca, Patillas. Penuelas. Ponce. Quebradillas, Rincón, Sabana Grande, Salinas, San German, Santa Isabel, Villalba and Yauco. The San Juan servconsistsall ice area of other municipios in Puerto Rico.

 $[69\ {\rm FR}\ 72034,\ {\rm Dec.}\ 10,\ 2004,\ {\rm as}\ {\rm amended}\ {\rm at}\ 73$ ${\rm FR}\ 26040,\ {\rm May}\ 8,\ 2008]$