have been disrupted by disasters and/or emergencies;

(iii) Provide communication circuits wholly within the State of Alaska and the United States insular areas in the Pacific; and

(iv) Provide communication circuits to support operations which are highly important to the national interest and where other means of telecommunication are unavailable.

(3) Except in the State of Alaska and the United States Pacific insular areas, the Commission does not intend to seek international protection for assignments made pursuant to paragraphs (h) (1)(ii) and (2) of this section; this results in the following constraints upon the circuits/assignments.

(i) The Commission will not accept responsibility for protection of the circuits from harmful interference caused by foreign operations.

(ii) In the event that a complaint of harmful interference resulting from operation of these circuits is received from a foreign source, the offending circuit(s) must cease operation on the particular frequency concerned.

(iii) In order to accommodate the situations described in paragraphs (h)(3)(i) and (ii) of this section, equipments shall be capable of transmitting and receiving on any frequency in the bands assigned to the particular operation and capable of immediate change among the frequencies.

[49 FR 2373, Jan. 19, 1984, 70 FR 46585, Aug. 10, 2005]

§2.103 Federal use of non-Federal frequencies.

(a) Federal stations may be authorized to use non-Federal frequencies in the bands above 25 MHz (except the 763– 775 MHz and 793-805 MHz public safety bands) if the Commission finds that such use is necessary for coordination of Federal and non-Federal activities: Provided, however, that:

(1) Federal operation on non-Federal frequencies shall conform with the conditions agreed upon by the Commission and NTIA (the more important of which are contained in paragraphs (a)(2), (a)(3) and (a)(4) of this section);

(2) Such operations shall be in accordance with Commission rules gov47 CFR Ch. I (10-1-08 Edition)

erning the service to which the frequencies involved are allocated;

(3) Such operations shall not cause harmful interference to non-Federal stations and, should harmful interference result, that the interfering Federal operation shall immediately terminate; and

(4) Federal operation has been certified as necessary by the non-Federal licensees involved and this certification has been furnished, in writing, to the Federal agency with which communication is required.

(b) Federal stations may be authorized to use channels in the 769–775 MHz, 799–805 MHz and 4940–4990 MHz public safety bands with non-Federal entities if the Commission finds such use necessary; where:

(1) The stations are used for interoperability or part of a Federal/non-Federal shared or joint-use system;

(2) The Federal entity obtains the approval of the non-Federal (State/local government) licensee(s) or applicant(s) involved;

(3) Federal operation is in accordance with the Commission's Rules governing operation of this band and conforms with any conditions agreed upon by the Commission and NTIA; and

(4) Interoperability, shared or jointuse systems are the subject of a mutual agreement between the Federal and non-Federal entities. This section does not preclude other arrangements or agreements as permitted under part 90 of the rules. See 47 CFR 90.179 and 90.421 of this chapter.

(c) Federal stations may be authorized to use channels in the 763-768 MHz and 793-798 MHz public safety bands with non-Federal entities where:

(1) The Federal entity obtains the prior approval of the Public Safety Broadband Licensee (and such approval granted by the Public Safety Broadband Licensee is consistent with the terms and conditions of the Network Sharing Agreement under 90.1406 of this chapter); and

(2) Federal operation is in accordance with the Commission's rules governing operation of this band and conforms to

Federal Communications Commission

any conditions agreed upon by the Commission and NTIA.

[63 FR 58650, Nov. 2, 1998, as amended at 68 FR 38638, June 30, 2003; 70 FR 46586, Aug. 10, 2005; 72 FR 48843, Aug. 24, 2007]

§2.104 International Table of Frequency Allocations.

(a) The International Table of Frequency Allocations is subdivided into the Region 1 Table (column 1 of \$2.106), the Region 2 Table (column 2 of \$2.106), and the Region 3 Table (column 3 of \$2.106). The International Table is included for informational purposes only.

(b) Regions. For the allocation of frequencies the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) has divided the world into three Regions¹ as shown in Figure 1 of this section and described as follows:

(1) Region 1. Region 1 includes the area limited on the east by line A (lines A, B and C are defined below) and on the west by line B, excluding any of the territory of the Islamic Republic of Iran which lies between these limits. It also includes the whole of the territory of Armenia, Azerbaijan, the Russian Federation, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Mon-Uzbekistan. golia, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Turkey and Ukraine and the area to the north of the Russian Federation which lies between lines A and C.

(2) *Region 2.* Region 2 includes the area limited on the east by line B and on the west by line C.

(3) Region 3. Region 3 includes the area limited on the east by line C and on the west by line A, except any of the territory of Armenia, Azerbaijan, the Federation, Georgia. Russian Kazakhstan, Mongolia, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Turkey and Ukraine and the area to the north of the Russian Federation. It also includes that part of the territory of the Islamic Republic of Iran lying outside of those limits.

(4) The lines A, B and C are defined as follows:

(i) Line A. Line A extends from the North Pole along meridian 40° East of Greenwich to parallel 40° North; thence by great circle arc to the intersection of meridian 60° East and the Tropic of Cancer; thence along the meridian 60° East to the South Pole.

(ii) Line B. Line B extends from the North Pole along meridian 10° West of Greenwich to its intersection with parallel 72° North; thence by great circle arc to the intersection of meridian 50° West and parallel 40° North; thence by great circle arc to the intersection of meridian 20° West and parallel 10° South; thence along meridian 20° West to the South Pole.

(iii) Line C. Line C extends from the North Pole by great circle arc to the intersection of parallel $65^{\circ}30'$ North with the international boundary in Bering Strait; thence by great circle arc to the intersection of meridian 165° East of Greenwich and parallel 50° North; thence by great circle arc to the intersection of meridian 170° West and parallel 10° North; thence along parallel 10° North to its intersection with meridian 120° West to the South Pole.

(c) *Areas.* To further assist in the international allocation of the radio spectrum, the ITU has established five special geographical areas and they are defined as follows:

(1) The term "African Broadcasting Area" means:

(i) African countries, parts of countries, territories and groups of territories situated between the parallels 40° South and 30° North;

(ii) Islands in the Indian Ocean west of meridian 60° East of Greenwich, situated between the parallel 40° South and the great circle arc joining the points 45° East, $11^{\circ}30'$ North and 60° East, 15° North; and

(iii) Islands in the Atlantic Ocean east of line B, situated between the parallels 40° South and 30° North.

(2) The "European Broadcasting Area" is bounded on the west by the western boundary of Region 1, on the east by the meridian 40° East of Greenwich and on the south by the parallel 30° North so as to include the northern part of Saudi Arabia and that part of

¹It should be noted that where the words "regions" or "regional" are without a capital "R," they do not relate to the three Regions here defined for purposes of frequency allocation.